SOMEWHERE ONLY WE KNOW PT. 1


OK this story is a three part story! It originally was supposed to be a two parter, but I wrote all this back story our two main characters and everything else that is going on within this realm. I figured that back story would serve well as Pt. 1. I feel like it sets up Pt. 2 pretty well. Pt. 2 maybe sometime today (I wrote it Friday hoping it would be posted on Friday, but it is technically Saturday as of now) or tomorrow. Pt. 3 will follow depending how  Pt.2  ends up or when I freaking write it. I am thinking of making this into a series of it’s own because it is interesting I must say. It’s just a thought for now! Anyways enjoy Part one of this series! – MC.


 

                                                                              SOMEWHERE ONLY WE KNOW

 

They say you don’t truly know a person till see them at the most vulnerable and emotional state. You cannot truly know someone till you have seen that side, till that person has allowed you to see that side. This emotion is the combination of their light and their deepest darkness. It is a raw rarity that people only see once or for the rest of their lives. Today, I think I may have seen that emotion, that combination of both light and dark for what could be the last time. Maybe this was destiny for this to happen or maybe…it was just a way to strengthen our bond. My name is Armen and I share with you a story.

It is the year 2077. June 17th was the date. I finally had time to come home and visit my best friend, Lily. I should tell you guys a little bit about the world if this is new to you or if you have been living under a rock! You see in 2047 World War 3 broke out. It ended in 2063, but it changed a lot in America. The Governments broke down and we reverted back to monarchies. Yes monarchies, but it was unlike any monarchy we have seen in history. WW3 caused all 50 states to select a king and queen. All states became like tribes with leaders in each different city while the king and queen ruled and governed in the capital states. I know it seems odd in this technically advanced world, but that’s just we did. We had a democracy that simply wasn’t worldwide. This was the tip of the iceberg. Mythological creatures and monsters reappeared like someone threw them in different states from a time machine or book. This meant dragons, zombies, mages, orcs, elves, beasts, werewolves and yes cyborgs even existed. Some say someone found Area 51 and let all these monsters out during the war. Scary stuff! Just because the war ended didn’t mean these monsters were all gone granted some were very peaceful and aided certain states after the war was over. However, some were very hostile….very hostile. These hostiles attacked and even took over certain cities and states of America. This lead to the birth of a Special Forces unit to take back these over run places. We are known as the Special Refuge of the 50. Even though certain states shared different ideologies, we all needed to be safe. For example, Texas is an absolute monarchy. There are rules, but pretty much anything goes in that vast land while California was a limited monarchy. They had more of decorum to getting things done. There are plenty more details behind how this is all happened, but I’ll save that for another time.

I am a part of the SR50 sector in Seattle. I have to say for a handsome, charming twenty three year old warrior, I moved up the ranks pretty fast. I’m well respected and I’m a top general in the sector as well. Some of the older fellas cannot stand it and think experience should just guarantee them a spot when their results aren’t that amazing. So what you are old and experience, but you cannot close or defeat monsters on that battlefield like I do. I get things done buddy! I should point out I’m a superhuman too so….I have the edge. How does that old song from the ancient 80s go? “I GOT THE TOUCH…I GOT THE POWER!” Hahaha I was simply born that way. Science!

My best friend Lily, 22, is also a part of the SR50 even though she really shouldn’t be. The reason I say that is because Lily is royalty. Well I don’t see her as Royalty, but the rest of Washington and the other 49 see it that way. Lils is the King and Queen’s daughter if you didn’t put two and two together. She insists that she helped out “instead of sitting on her ass and being like Princess Cali”. Her words not mine. I’m glad she is helping the SR50 to be honest because she is special! Besides being my friend, she is known as the most feared mage and top dawg of the magic sector of the entire SR50. She is also one of the most beautiful people in the world inside and out. She is smart, thoughtful, genuine and overall amazing individual. It’s an honor being friends with her. She also has one of the meanest streaks I have ever seen in a person. You make her mad and she may go to the farthest extreme to let you know “hey don’t mess with a bull” I couldn’t ask for a better best friend.

I want to tell you all the story of how we became friends. It’s quite odd and random when I think about it in retrospect. Our friendship began when we were children. I was 5 and she was 4. I was playing around in this forest honing my skills into what they are now. I had to start somewhere damn it. I used an altered terra shield and this electric dagger. Anyways, I was wandering around when I heard a girl scream. It was Lily. I ran towards to scream to see Lily surrounded by goblins and their leader. Lily got there because she wandered off from the Kingdom into this mess. Kids will be kids right. Back then Lily wasn’t as feared because her powers weren’t fully developed, but thankfully I was there. I charged the goblin boss and killed him with swift slice to his neck. The sight of blood or something must have triggered something in lily because I noticed one of her eyes changing color. This unleashed a monster within Lily because she instantly killed those cronies with an energy blast.  After those goblins were dead, she was still shooting energy blasts, crying and putting a hole in this boulder next to this Hyperion tree. I had to do something to stop her before she ended up killing me too so I grabbed her by the shoulders and for some reason hugged her. I guess that’s what you would do for someone when they are terrified of everything going on.

I whispered “Everything is Ok. The bad guys are gone now!” and she stopped crying.
She looked up, smiling at me and I noticed her eye went back to its original color, purple.
She said “Thank you…I….what is your name?”
“Armen” I replied.
She said “Armie?”
“No” I said my name slowly “Ar-men”.
She smiled and said “I’m lost…Armen…I don’t know how to get homeeee”
I said “I think I’m lost too…”
I didn’t want her to think we going to be eaten by Goblins or whatever the hell else lurked here, so I told her
“I think I know how to get back home.”
She smiled and hugged me excitingly. I guess she was relieved at the time that someone came to save her.
Before, we began to make the long walk back into the city; Lily stopped a few steps by the boulder.
She said “ Armen…I…will you be my friend?”
Normally, I don’t just become friends with strangers, but when you rescue a pretty girl you don’t be a meanie.
I said “Yes Lily, I’ll be your friend” and I smiled at her.
She smiled really big like she saw pop star or her father and just hugged me! Lily was very affectionate then and still now.
I exclaimed “WE have to leave now before more monsters come! We must go!”
Lily blankly stared at me for a while and made a face like she just had an idea
“Armen I know how to get home. I just remembered something Mommy taught me”
Lily sat down by the boulder and told me to sit next to her.
“What are you about to do” I asked.
Lily smirked and said” We are about to go home. Teleportateshunn”
“Teleportation? You can do that?” I said.
Lily nodded furiously.
“I just remembered…mommy taught me it if a stranger tried to take me”.
“Aren’t I stranger?” I asked
“No, You are my friend Armen…we are friends! You saved me so we are friends!” Lily said.

I nodded and watch Lily emit a shining white glow that covered me and her. We teleported alright…out of the area into a haystack. We laughed about this because it wasn’t home and we were kids at the time. She didn’t have it down completely yet, but we did indeed teleport. She tried again and this time we were on the same street as the fortified building she stayed in.
Lily yelled “IT WORKED!” She pointed at the building “That is my house!”
It didn’t take too long for it to sink that this was the king’s daughter! I disregarded that fact and continued to be normal.
I said “OH that’s a big house! Let’s walk to it!”
She smiled proudly and nodded!

We walked down the road like it was that old film “The Wizard of Oz” where the King and Queen were waiting by the gate.
She & I ran towards the gate where she was reunited with her mother and father on inside.

“I was so worried about you! Don’t ever runaway like that again!” her mother said crying tears of joy.
“Mommy” Lily said. Her mother looked up at me and said “who is this boy?”
Her father looked at me like I was the cause of this.
He said “Yes who are you boy?”
Before I could say my name Lily chimed in “This is Armen! He is my friend and my…ummm Saver! He saved me from the bad guys!”
“What bad guys!? Did someone try to hurt you baby?” The King said.
Lily Nodded “uh-huh! Four ummm ummmm what’s the word Armen?”
I said “It was four goblins and a boss sir. I took out the boss and Lily destroyed those other ones! She is really strong!”
The King and Queen let out a big sigh of relief. The king began to laugh.
The king said “I knew our daughter was strong like us” and continued to laugh loud until his wife hit him and said “Our daughter almost getting killed isn’t funny! I’m so thankful this boy…Armen came along and helped our sweet lily!”
The king stopped laughing out of joy and cut his eyes to me.
He said “Thank you Armen…we will not forget this…would you like to stay and have dinner? We can contact your parents and let them know you are here with us”
Without even second guessing I said yes! And the king said “Also you can train in our felicities as well” How did he know I was training? He must have seen my weapons and shield.

Ever since that day our friendship grew stronger. We would go back to our meeting place each year and defeat anything that was lurking there until it was completely clear of monsters! I think I was eleven and she was ten when we cleared out the last monsters to lurk there. After that, we decorated the place a bit. I mean a barren forest like area with a huge boulder and Hyperion tree is boring! I built a training ground while Lily conjured a fortress out of thin air. She made it a point to one-up me haha. I still find it amazing that this place is kept a secret to this day.  Did Lily use a spell so no one can see this place, but us? No idea, but Heck of a story huh? If I wasn’t in that forest I doubt she would be alive. It was a one in a million shot of us meeting up, but I’m so glad we did.

Back to present day, both of us finally had time off after completing our missions. We were both separated to aid couple cities from attacks from anti-terror groups and of course various monsters. A clear area means time off and this time off was really needed for me! I got to see my family and my close friends and…ummm another close friend.  I’m sure she needed this time off to catch up with family and other things too! We had so much to catch up on because both of us have been extremely busy with missions in our sections. Hell even contact through our communicators was impossible…well it was. It wasn’t….I knew that, but it was. I like to catch up face to face anyways because it’s much more effective. The context is important! It is always important. So after about a week or two of settling in I set up a hangout day between us. We weren’t really speaking in between these off days and I didn’t like that. Maybe we were pre-occupied with other things.

When our hangout day came, everything went swell. It was like we picked up right where we left off the last time we saw each other or so I thought. I could sense something and she could sense something, but neither of us would say what that something was! Maybe we were afraid to speak about that something. Who knows? The Maker knows. The day was coming to a close and as tradition we went to where our friendship first took place. Here is where we really talk about issues. We really talk here because it’s our safe zone and I had a feeling we had a lot to talk about this time. The odd tension in the air was really starting to bother me. It was like I was out with a stranger and not the person I knew. I think I was just tripping, but what if she was thinking the exact same. Time apart can do damage to friendships sometimes and maybe this could be one of those times? Did we both not make an effort to speak to each other or was it something else? I felt like maybe something was wrong, but I didn’t want to ruin the mood. Normally when it’s night out here, there isn’t a cloud in the sky, but this time I saw a few. It looked like a storm was coming….and maybe I was right and maybe it was just the weather.…maybe a lot was about to change. Could this be our final meeting? I looked to the sky while Lily stood next to me also looking up. I think we both knew…what could transpire here. We sat by this bench outside of the fortress.

What follows is our conversation.

 

 

Leave a Reply

