Somewhere Only We Know Pt. 3


Here it is! the conclusion to my short story SOMEWHERE ONLY WE KNOW!  You have enjoyed reading this. Who Knows I may make the adventures of Armen and Lily a thing. I don’t know yet lol. Anyways enjoy! Happy Reading! – MC


 

Lily summoned her staff and transformed her casual-battle gear into her serious battle gear. The rain fell harder and the thunder grew louder. Lightning struck the flower garden setting it ablaze. She looked up at me with a wide grin as if she was being possessed. We stood opposite of each other in the middle of this field. I knew Lily finally went berserk, but I felt like she was she trying to fight it.

Armen: (Shouting) LILY! WHAT ARE YOU DOING?
Lily: (crying) Armie…I….Don’t know….but I’m going to lose you…one way or another. (She stops crying and starts laughing her voice changes into a berserk one) ARMIE RU—Come HERE! I’m GOING TO END THIS PAIN AND I WILL NOT FEEL LIKE THIS AGAIN. LET’S END THIS GAME ARMIE…SINCE YOU THINK I’M NOT GOOD ENOUGH!
Armen: (Scared and shouting) LILY DO NOT DO THIS! THIS IS NOT…YOU ARE GOOD ENOUGH! DON’T YOU EVER THINK THAT! YOU GOTTA FIGHT THIS LILY I KNOW YOU ARE IN THERE!
Lily: WHEN I’m DONE WITH YOU…I’M GOING TO FIND HER and YOUR LITTLE GROUP OF FRIENDS WHO THINKS THIS IS OK…I’m GOING TO-
Armen: (shouting) YOU LEAVE HER OUT OF THIS YOU HEAR! THEY DID YOU NOTHING! LISTEN WHATEVER YOU ARE YOU HAVE A PROBLEM WITH ME! THIS IS BETWEEN ME AND YOU!
Lily: (snapping out of it) Armie….please… (Berserk) OH I KNOW I’M GOING TO END YOU AND ALL OF YOUR LIES TO US! YOU WILL ATONE FOR LYING! YOU WILL ATONE FOR MAKING US FEEL THIS WAY! YOU WILL PAY!
Armen: If you are going to kill me, I simply will not allow it…I’m not going to fight you Lily.
Lily: (crying) who said you had a choice? I’m going to lose you armie….

Lily then fired a huge energy burst at me leveling the entire training ground. I quickly dodged and began to run for my life. I had to arm myself because running simply was not going to do cut it. I looked down at my gauntlet to activate the sword and shield. As I made it out of the demolished training grounds, my sword and shield appeared in my hands. I made it to the bridge of the fortress. The rain, thunder and lightning was that of a full on storm. I was dodging lighting strikes and with Lily’s different energy bursts while she floated behind me. Thank the maker I was a superhuman because no mere human could react like this; they would be dead after the first blast. As I was running I remembered the surprise gift I placed here while Lily was in the fortress…the shield and electric dagger I saved her with when we were kids. I placed it behind the boulder I planned to make my way towards the boulder and the head of the fort. Lily’s energy bursts were increasing and the lightning strikes got worst. I kept yelling and pleading with Lily to somehow make her stop this madness.

Armen: (shouting and running) Lily! ENOUGH!!! You are gonna wreck the place and kill us both!
Lily: (berserk yet trying to break free) ARMEN WE ARE GOING TO DIE TO—-Armie….keep running I’m Sorr—OHHHH YOU ARE GONNA PAY!
Armen: Doesn’t OUR FRIENDSHIP MATTER?! WHY ARE YOU BEING SO SELFISH!!!
Lily: Selfis—-WE ARE BEING REASONABLE! YOU ARE THE SELFISH ONE!

I made it to the boulder and stopped dead in my tracks. I saw the electric dagger and shield and inched my way over to them. I never took my eyes off of Lily while we exchanged our reasoning.

Armen: (insulted) I AM THE SELFISH ONE? You think I didn’t consider your feelings not once! You think it’s all roses and sunshine because I’m with this person Lily!?  You are wrong. The outsider looking in! It’s not all that great! Trust me on this for once! It is not always silver and gold! I was about to throw that shit away for you, but I thought about how that would make her feel and that’s not cool. I committed…I should have waited. I did what I did –
Lily: (berserk wearing off) TO WHAT- Armie….it-TO PROTECT ME HUH?
Armen: No because…I don’t know why I just couldn’t do it. I couldn’t put you through my bullshit storm from the past even if we lived it together. I couldn’t do that to you. You deserve the best!
Lily: (berserk wearing off) BUT-Armie I just wanted….(cries)
Lily floats down and is now on the ground right next to the hole she put into the boulder all those years ago. Her eyes are fighting back and forth with the berserk.
Lily: (Berserk) WHY….I WANT TO SEE US HAPPY…I WANT YOU HAPPY AND ME…I DON’T WANT TO LOSE YOU!
Armen: I am happy. I know that’s something you want to hear. Your wish from last year came true and I’m happy. I understand you feel threatened…I could never replace my lils with anyone. I’m happy you feel this strongly even though this hurts me. Lils I know you are in there…I know you can hear me. It’s your Armie. I’m always gonna be yours and no one is gonna take you away from me. I’m still fighting with you right now! If I really didn’t love you I would have tried to kill you out of anger. I’m a very mixed bag right now and I need you to be Lily…My Lily. If you think killing me is going to make this problem go away, which it won’t, then try. I will not go down without a fight. I’m not scared of you. Lily…Listen I want to see you happy too. I’m-

Lily cut me off with an energy burst. I braced up ended up moving far back from the boulder grabbing the electric dagger and shield in the process. I wasn’t getting through to her I thought, but I could see she was crying and her eyes were trying to revert back to their natural purple. The sky was raging and the storm was getting much worst. I walked towards Lily holding up the shield and the electric dagger hoping I could jog her memory or the berserk would finally stop.

Armen: (Shouting) LILY! PLEASE! I DON’T WANT TO HURT YOU! PLEASE-
Lily: (Berserk) YOU ALREADY HURT ME…ENOUGH-
Armen:  do you remember these?! LILY!
Lily: (Berserk wearing off): Is that….
Armen: Yes! Lils that’s it…Remember!

Lily nodded. The storm was at its peak. Lily was about to speak when a huge lightning bolt came from the sky! I dashed as quickly as I could to Lily and managed to make it to her deflecting the lightning bolt with the shield from our childhood. I just saved her life again. The lightning bolt demolished my shield and I took some of the shock. I fell to my knees and looked up at Lily’s eyes. They were Purple again and full of tears.

Lily: (crying and concerned) ARMIE! ARMIE! Armie I’m so sorry! What have I done?? I….I…Armie Ple-

I stood up and looked her in the eyes. I threw the shield down and hugged her. The storm was over and the night sky became clear again. She really did it this time…I held her in my embrace and I whispered in her ear.
Armen: (groggy from the bolt) shut up kid….you’re welcome. All the bad guys are gone now…everything is going to be ok. Let it out. It’s ok.

Lily began to cry hard into my arms as the words must have triggered the past. It may have been our longest hug of all time. I understood why she went to the limits she did to justify why she felt that way. I’ve felt like that once in the past; haven’t we all? I knew what her thought processes was because I had it. Sometimes you lose those people who were once closest to you and sometimes they stick around for the long haul. It’s an ability that certain people possess or don’t possess. These are the people despite feeling ill towards your new found happiness, suck it up and fight themselves on either staying or going. Truthfully weak friends leave while the strong continue to fight. Lily was one of those strong people. I knew exactly how she felt and her feeling toward me. I was a dick for not being completely honest. I am still kicking myself for that because all of this could have been avoided.

Lily’s tears stopped…and her words stopped to. It’s like she didn’t know what to say to me at this point. She was emotional drained and so was I. Hell she just tried to kill me! Lily left from my arms…and looked down. She seemed disappointed in her lack of self-control and letting her emotions get the best of her. I think she held back because if she wanted to kill me she simply could have. I would not have stood a chance if she didn’t hold back. All I had quick reflexes from years of training.  Lily looked up at me.
Lily: (whispered tiredly) *sigh* just go…
Armen: Lily?
Lily: GO! I’m sorry…Go before I lose my control again Armen. Just Go….

She gestured for me to leave after saying that. I gave her a hug and the electric dagger as I departed from this place. The last image I saw before leaving was Lily just standing between the boulder and the fortress trying to force a smile for me.

A week later after this ordeal with Lily, I didn’t hear from her. I tried to contact her before I went on this mission, but I got no answer. She was upset still and space was definitely needed. I mean why would she want to talk to me? Why would she want to talk to the person who snapped her heart into a million pieces?  Maybe she wasn’t ready to talk. I get it, but I don’t think our friendship is over. She probably didn’t want to talk, but maybe she was watching me. I was on this mission to clear Newcastle of these defective cyborgs terrorizing the town. They were supposed to be programed to help people and business, but ended up destroying them. I was having an off day. I was worried about Lily. I tried to take a bunch of the cyborgs on at once and got surrounded. I was outnumbered. There was no way I could I truly get out of this one alive. I was about to accept my fate until the sky got really dark and huge lightning bolt came down short circuiting all of the cyborgs. Mission complete I guess? I looked up to see where it came from and to my surprise I saw a silhouette of someone on top of the building I was behind. A piece of paper shot at me knocking back in the rubble. The force behind it felt very familiar. I opened the paper and the text made me shed a tear confirming my assumptions.

It said

“Congratulations on everything…that was hard. You’re welcome kid so you don’t have to say thanks. It seems the tables have turned.  I saved you now. You owe me again hehe. Are we still friends? I would like to think so even though I…we don’t need to talk about that. You know where to go to find me. Love you A.  –L”

I cried tears of joy knowing it was Lily who saved my ass. Lily finally came to terms with my decision in her own special way. It wasn’t the traditional “I’ll be your sappy best friend rooting you and your lover on” nope. It was Lily’s way. Lily showed me better than words can describe. She was displeased with my decision and I almost died because of it. Lily is showing me her way of coping and still sticking by my side to do it. I can’t say I have my cake and I’m eating too because Lily can end that if she feels the need to. I’m at her mercy as her best friend.  I’m glad I can still count on her even when she strongly dislikes what I chose to do and being a bit shady about it. Lily won’t quit on me and I won’t quit on her. This friendship No companionship NO whatever you want call it will not die. Our bond just became stronger on the verge of losing it all.  I have meeting to go to now…I have to take some time out. I owe her. I’m off to the place only we know.

Leave a Reply

