The 12 Days Of Honest ProCons: Creatively Pessimistic


I hope by now you know what this is!!!! Welcome to Day Four of The 12 Honest Days Of Procons! We don’t do long intros for these because all the content is in the subject baby!!! So let’s not waste any time!! GET TO IT!!!


Creatively Pessimistic

Pro: Creativity (n)

  1. The state or quality of being creative.
  2. The ability to transcend traditional ideas, rules, patterns, relationships, or the like, and to create meaningful new ideas, forms, methods, interpretations, etc.; originality, progressiveness, or imagination:
  3. The process by which one utilizes creative ability


If The Maker gave me one gift that I am definitely sure of, it’s the gift of creativity! It is it obvious? I doubt I could come up with this blog and content for it if I was not creative. I know I can be a bit lazy sometimes or it doesn’t update as much as it should, but the point is I freaking come up with stuff! Heck, life would be so boring if I did not have creativity. I think I would just be following everyone popular or whatever instead of trying to do my own thing at life. I could not imagine me doing that…unless you can like trade souls and go on auto pilot forever. I swear if I am ever just following someone make sure you slap me because I am way better than that. Promise you will do that for me?

OK?

OK!

Hell you can’t be boring with a blog that’s just some cut and paste quotes from a picture or some jokes you stole from someone else. “Like you are the blog police or something” right I am not, but I am just saying don’t fill space with something you can find a on a forum.  Unfortunately that does not apply to music because everyone just does what is popular at the moment just to get on. Everything just becomes more commercialized and people lose that creativity just to make the money. I hate that some people only get to hear that instead of searching for music that is worth your time. A lack of creativity is an awful thing.

So you could be saying “what it takes to be creative, Matt?” and I will tell you to read the definition I posted for you at the beginning of this piece…jeeze I would think you like to read if you are on this blog. If you like pictures and stuff, maybe you should join tumblr or the snapchat…that’s what it is called right?

Well in my case, I think one must be creative to make music, write stories, craft poems, or do anything with their mind and I do it all! I swear you guys don’t know how many things I wrote up over the years. I am still salty over my missing blue binder full of ideas and some short stories. The missing binder was something I would write in every day during senior year of High School and it had so many things I wanted to revisit in the future. I had drafts for songs, skits, stories, everything you can think of and just one day it went poof! It really sucks. IF ANYONE SEES A BLUE BINDER WITH CRAPPY HANDWRITING PLEASE EMAIL ME BECAUSE IT’S MINE!! IT HAD A COVER TOO! I MISS YOU BLUE BINDER!

Onward to when I started doing music I guess. If you know me, music and I are best friends. I finally started doing music when I was 16 and my first beat sucks so much, but you can hear my passion behind how much I loved it. I may post that one day….and you better not laugh at it because it sucks. Fast forward to now and I have freaking beat tape/ album called Monster on my souncloud! Crazy stuff! I’m plotting on the next lick in 2015 lol.

I remember back when I was sick I challenged myself to write a song a day because I’m too intelligent and creative to not write a song. It lasted for a while, but that ended once freshman year of college started up again. I have some of those songs on my computer and external still. I’m too scared to read em because I was on painkillers like a mug and the past work is weird to look at some times lol. I may post one of these days too….just don’t laugh…wait no please laugh because some are pretty funny.


 

Con: Pessimistic (adj.)

  1. Pertaining to or characterized by pessimism or the tendency to expect only bad outcomes; gloomy; joyless; unhopeful

I will not lie… last year and this year sort of I have been a bit pessimistic. LAST YEAR ESPECIALLY because I was just awful…I was recovering from some stuff and the world just was gloomy. I think now I am not as pessimistic as I once was a year ago because everything is not that bad. Life isn’t horrible it just has sometimes where you wish it could be better than it actually is. You know what you do though? You suck it up, dust yourself off and keep pushing or be me from last year. I will say one thing though it does sneak up on me from time to time. I don’t always expect bad outcomes, but sometimes I can just feel when something is going to be bad or not go anywhere.

I am not going to larp on this forever, but one example that came to mind was the entire Ferguson verdict. I immediately felt it in my spirit that justice was not going to be served from the first day. I know that’s awful…I just knew though how this was going to go down. I knew that the media was going to have a field day with the death of this young man. Hell a week prior to the verdict the media reports that they were getting prepared for riots. If that was not giving you a hint where this case was going, then I don’t know what’s wrong with you. So when the day came for the grand jury decision that he was not getting indicted…I was not surprised. My pessimism prepared me for the decision unfortunately and I wasn’t affected by it.  I am glad my pessimism was wrong about Jordan Davis’ verdict.

Pessimism is just an awful thing you know?

When you are waking up every day thinking today is going to be crappy, life in general just sucks. I’m glad that I’m out of that haze. It was not fun and it fuels your depression. You just want everything to end or something major to change. The best way I can describe it is you want a breath of fresh air that is never going to come because you won’t get up and go outside. Does that make sense? I hope it does. I am not a fan when it sneaks up on me, but I have to accept that is going to happen sometimes. I can’t just act like I’m not feeling gloomy. That’s not being real. The way is see it now is some days aren’t so sunny, but it isn’t so hard. I can get through it. I’m just happy that the gift of life arrived another morning because it is never promised to anybody.

And if you are pessimistic right now, snap out of it. Everything gets better in time I promise. Do not deny your flaws, embrace them. Embrace your flaws because they are a part of you!!!  You can’t deny them because they are effing riders and I know for sure you don’t want to Eff with them! Kudos to you if you understood that lol. 


 

ProCons: Creatively Pessimistic

This ProCon is a double edged sword I must say. I mean I can be creative about so many things, but if the pessimistic bug bites me all those creative things can turn really dark and ugly. I mean it works when I want to turn pessimism into something I can poke fun of, but when it backfires and just sounds completely pessimistic that’s a problem. All I can say is I can throw ideas about anything at you just catch me on a day where the P bug didn’t take a chomp out of my rump.

Till Day 5!

-MC

Leave a Reply

