Grammy Awards 2015: The Year of Salt or Sugar?


It’s that time for everyone to be extremely mad that their favorite musician didn’t win an award for their hard work; It is Grammy Season!! Today is the 57th Annual Grammy Awards! You don’t know what the Grammys are? Have you been living under a rock for years? Are you isolated from society? Are you acting? Maybe you just don’t care, but have do not fear I got you covered! Basically, the Grammy Awards is a celebration of the music industry and recognizes the achievements in that industry. It’s an award show pretty much. It is music’s version of the Tony’s, the EMMYS, and the Academy Awards. I’m sure you know what those are so no need to explain and if you don’t know please use your brain + computer.

Since the Grammys will occur later on today, I figured why not write a prediction piece about who I think will win the prestigious Grammy? I decided to go with a certain method to write my predictions. I wasn’t going to write about music I did not listen to last year. So if you see certain genres missing like Americana, Latin, Country, etc. that means I did not listen to either enough of the music or any of it. For example, I can tell you now I didn’t listen to a lot of metal last year. Slipknot is one of my favorite bands and they are nominated this year to win a Grammy. I didn’t listen to the album or the other 4 choices so why would I write about who I think would win it even if I think Slipknot will win that Grammy? To me that’s an empty opinion and I don’t do empty opinions.

So instead, I’ll write my predictions for what I did listen to that year. I’ll break them down into three categories: Popular Vote (based on popularity and Grammy voting committee), MC’s Choice (based on my personal feelings/bias), and The Shocker (based on a win that will come out of left field). I feel like tonight I’ll be right and wrong about some of these. It’s not like wrestling where you can be 90 percent correct most of the time lol. However, I think I got a fair idea on who is going with a Grammy.

In the end, fans of these artists will be happy or mad about the results. We all know about the big Kendrick Lamar snub that cut hip-hop deep. We all know Macklemore shouldn’t have won, but he was all the Grammy voting committee knew about so what can you do?  Hopefully that doesn’t happen again in hip-hop or any genre, but I got a feeling it will. A lot of us will be salty and the other lot will be sweet filled with joy.

The Grammys should bring about a surprise or two tonight. I heard Prince is going to be doing something tonight and I love surprises. I am excited to see what the show will bring tonight. Holograms? Big Jam Session with huge artists? Some drama? Who knows! It’s the Grammys baby! Win or lose the true fans know who deserves a Grammys and who simply does not.

Let’s get to the predictions of Salt & Sugar that is Grammys 2015!


Best R&B Song

“Drunk In Love,” Beyonce ft. Jay Z
“Good Kisser,” Usher
“New Flame,” Chris Brown ft. Usher & Rick Ross
“Options (Wolfjames Version),” Luke James ft. Rick Ross
“The Worst,” Jhené Aiko

Popular Vote: “Drunk In Love”.
I think it’s obvious that this award is basically a gimmie to Bey & Jay. I mean when I think of the voting committee Jay-Z and Beyonce are the most well known out of the four. Plus it is Jay-Z & Beyonce! I think that is enough for them to win it. A stellar combo with an catchy yet annoying song lol. This is most likely your winner tonight.

MC’s Choice:  “The Worst”.
I love Jhene Aiko. Let’s get that right out of the way. I think “The Worst” is one of my favorite songs of last year and 2013. It is a perfect letter to someone who hurt you. The production is top notch, the writing is stinging and I guarantee after one listen of this song you’ll feel some emotion. Don’t take this personal, but The Worst should win a Grammy. 🙂

The Shocker: “Options”
I’m not as familiar as I should be with Luke James. After all he is from the same state that I’m from, the Boot, Louisiana! I should know his music well, but I never heard any of it. Maybe that’s because I don’t listen to the radio enough. Any who I would be surprised & proud if a hometown native won a Grammy.


Best Rock Song

“Ain’t It Fun,” Paramore
“Blue Moon,” Beck
“Fever,” The Black Keys
“Gimme Something Good,” Ryan Adams
“Lazaretto,” Jack White

Popular Vote: “Lazaretto”
Face it, Jack White is a musical genius. This is a fact. I am a huge fan of Jack White, so I would not be surprised if the committee voted for him to win that award. This was one of of my favorite songs last year too! It would be a fitting win for Jack White.

MC’s Choice: “Blue Moon”
I was going to choose the Black Keys first, but I like the song “Turn Blue” way more than I like the song “Fever”. Sorry guys. As much as I love Jack White, BECK freaking Beck should win best Rock song. He is freaking Beck! Blue Moon hit me right in the feels with lyrics such as “The songbird calling/ Across the water /Outside my silent asylum” and “So cut me down to size So I can fit inside/Lies that will divide Us both in time”. Songs about feeling alone or feeling abandoned always get to me. This song is beautiful and what will make even more beautiful is a shiny golden Grammy!

The Shocker: “Give Me Something Good”
As of now I just heard this song for the first time, and I am pissed I did not buy this man’s album. I’m going to take care of that shortly. Ryan Adams beating out Beck, Jack White, The Black Keys & Paramore would be shocking to some. From research, it shouldn’t be too surprising because Adams has a lengthy background with music. He isn’t some new comer, he’s been doing this for a while! Thanks Grammys nominations for introducing me to a new musician in my world!


Best Rap Song

“Anaconda,” Nicki Minaj
“Bound 2,” Kanye West & Charlie Wilson
“i,” Kendrick Lamar
“We Dem Boyz,” Wiz Khalifa
“0 to 100/The Catch Up,” Drake

Popular Vote: “Bound 2”
I really don’t want this song to win best rap song. I just don’t. I hated that Yeezus album with so much passion. However, this song is one of the two songs (other being “Blood on the Leaves”) that were good on this album. I can see Kanye winning tonight. I used to really like Kanye and I’m still a fan. A disgruntled fan at the moment, but a fan none the less. I won’t be happy he beat Kendrick, but at least one of the good songs earned a Grammy.

MC’s Choice: “i”
KENDRICK DESERVES A GRAMMY. Simple as that. THIS song is everything. Isley brothers sample + Kendrick Lamar = Greatness. It is so positive, fun and up beat! This song contains one of the best messages a lot of people need to hear. LOVE YOURSELF! You should be in love with yourself! I really want this to win a Grammy! I am doubtful though. I feel like if a song has a positive message or any message it’s going to be drowned out by the popular vote every time. I wish that will change one day. K Dot deserves a Grammy man. Don’t screw this up twice Grammy committee.

The Shocker: “i”
Last sentences of MC’s Choice sums it up well. I’m pulling for you Kendrick!


Best Rap/Sung Collaboration

“Blak Majik,” Common ft. Jhené Aiko
“The Monster,” Eminem ft. Rihanna
“Tuesday,” I Love Makonnen ft. Drake
“Studio,” ScHoolboy Q ft. BJ The Chicago Kid
“Bound 2,” Kanye West & Charlie Wilson

Popular Vote: “The Monster”
Why wouldn’t the dynamic duo win a Grammy? I really thought “Love The Way You Lie” was going to win a Grammy or two at the 2011 awards. I feel this time Em and RiRi have this Grammy in the back. I just can’t see this song losing to “Bound 2” Or “Tuesday”. I feel like it is on the same level of LTWYL. I would hate if Em And RiRi don’t win this won. It’s my favorite song out of the 5.

MC’s Choice: “The Monster”.
See above! MMLP2 was a big favorite when it dropped lol. I really relate to this song too, well not the fame part, but the acceptance of being a little coo coo lol.

The Shocker: “Blak Majik” or “Tuesday”
Blak Majik was my second favorite song in this list. It’s my favorite song on Nobody’s Smiling. I would be shocked because the voting committee actually listened to the song or the album. Common should get a Grammy this year…I would like to see that.

I would be pissed though if that stupid ass song “Tuesday” won a Grammy simply because Drake is on it. I’m still salty about Take Care beating Life Is Good at the 2013 Grammys. I don’t care if the song is popular, it isn’t a great song compared to the other four in my opinion. Please don’t repeat the salt from 2013.


Best Pop Duo/Group Performance

“Fancy,” Iggy Azalea ft. Charli XCX
“A Sky Full of Stars,” Coldplay
“Say Something,” A Great Big World ft. Christina Aguilera
“Bang Bang,” Ariana Grande, Jessie J & Nicki Minaj
“Dark Horse,” Katy Perry ft. Juicy J

Popular Vote: “Fancy”
Come on you know why this is going to win! DJ Mustard. Well the style jacking of DJ Mustard. When this song came out, I knew instantly Iggy was going to be a big star. I didn’t know she was going to get a bunch of hate too, but we will get to that later. I think this song great. I completely understand why it would win. People just love the song a ton plus it’s easy for it to get stuck in your head. I wouldn’t mind seeing Charli XCX get a Grammy for the hook. I mean that’s another reason why this song is so amazing because of Charli. I would look at this as Charli’s award. Anyways “Fancy” is a top contender to leave with that Grammy.

MC’s Choice: “Dark Horse”
To quote Charlamagne Tha God, I pick “The Nubian White Queen” Katy Perry to defeat everyone in this category. I feel that “Dark Horse” is a bit stronger than “Fancy” song wise and maybe radio play. I just like this song way more than I like “Fancy”. Everything about it is just awesome. The production, subject matter, the feature everything just clicks in this song. I would like to see KP leave with Grammy.

The Shocker: Any of the other three songs.
I wouldn’t really be shocked that any one of those three songs took home the award. I would be more surprised at the fact that it beat “Fancy” and “Dark Horse”. Two songs that were on the radio all the time and practically everywhere! You could not avoid “Fancy” or “Dark Horse” they were around every single corner! This would be shocking indeed.


Best Rap Performance

“3005,” Childish Gambino
“0 to 100/The Catch Up,” Drake
“Rap God,” Eminem
“i,” Kendrick Lamar
“All I Need Is You,” Lecrae

Popular Vote: “Rap God”
Have you not heard “Rap God”? Please go take a listen to it. The lyricism plus production plus the delivery of that song is just….how did he do that? It contains one of the best double times in recent rap history, the song won a record for most words in a single, and it became one of those party songs that everyone thought they could do. 6 mins and 4 secs of straight up bars and rapping  gosh damn! I mean come on if EM doesn’t win this I call some bullspit. I think this song win best PERFORMANCE over all of them.

MC’s Choice: “3005”
Even though “Rap God” might be the most technical performance out of all the nominees, the song that held the most meaning to me is “3005” by Childish Gambino. If you didn’t know, I am a huge Childish Gambino/Donald Glover mark. I relate to CG so much in his music. “3005” hit home for me. As one of those supplement songs, it makes me feel like I have something or someone to rely on whenever I hear it. I feel safe and happy whenever I hear “3005” despite how sad the song actually is. I think Childish Gambino needs to be recognized as one of the illest by the mass and Grammy win would definitely prove that. Who can say he beat Eminem, Kendrick Lamar & Drake? CG can.

The Shocker: “i”
Why? I feel some type of way about the Grammy voting committee. I feel like they don’t want to give Kendrick a Grammy. We all know good kid, m.A.A.d city deserved that Grammy last year. Sigh it’s the salt talking. I would be shocked if “i” won.


Best Pop Solo Performance

“All of Me,” John Legend
“Chandelier,” Sia
“Stay With Me,” Sam Smith
“Shake It Off,” Taylor Swift
“Happy,” Pharrell Williams

Popular Vote: “Shake It Off”
One of the biggest hits of the summer, “Shake It Off” is going to take home a Grammy. T-Swift has this one locked in if you ask me. It is absolute fun also another one of Taylor’s “FU I’m happy without your loser thoughts and comments” songs. A great post breakup song with someone I gotta say. I see Shake It Off winning tonight.

MC’s Choice: “Chandelier”
I personally want Sia to just win a Grammy for herself. I know she was nominated for “Wild Ones” with FloRida and didn’t win in 2013. This time I would love it if she won on her own with one of the best songs of last year. A very sad upbeat song, but awesome all together. I would love it Sia beat T-Swift for the Grammy. It would be cool to see her acceptance speech too!

The Shocker: “All Of Me”
Listen. I don’t like this song. I like John Legend. I absolutely dislike this song. If it won, I don’t know how I react. It’s too happy about finding that person who makes your world all happy. I on the other hand cannot stand it and makes me very, very mad. I really hope this song doesn’t win.


Best Rock Performance

“Gimme Something Good,” Ryan Adams
“Do I Wanna Know?”, Arctic Monkeys
“Blue Moon,” Beck
“Fever,” The Black Keys
“Lazaretto,” Jack White

Popular Vote: “Blue Moon”
I said it before in my pick for Best Rock Song. It hit me the most emotionally. Such a beautifully haunting record. I think voting committee can agree that Beck put out a great record and the performance is amazing. I also feel like Beck is the underdog. We all love underdogs winning right? Make it happen tonight committee.
MC’s Choice: “Blue Moon”

The Shocker: “Do I Wanna Know?”
This song is amazing. I rarely see indie rock bands winning Grammys, so if the Arctic Monkeys can pull it off. I would be pleased to see them win! They are another band whose album I should have brought last year, but unfortunately did not. Another band I should have been more familiar with. Don’t worry I will this year. I will probably be kicking myself once I listen to AM. A true “where have you been my whole life” type of moment.


Best R&B Performance

“Drunk In Love,” Beyoncé ft. Jay Z
“New Flame,” Chris Brown ft. Usher & Rick Ross
“It’s Your World,” Jennifer Hudson ft. R. Kelly
“Like This,” Ledisi
“Good Kisser,” Usher

Popular Vote: “Drunk In Love”
Two Names. Beyoncé & Jay-Z (You will forever have that hyphen Jay). This song versus the other songs is laughable. Out of all of those songs, it is the most commercially played and the voting committee likes that. This a gimmie to Jay & Bey again. The winner is on top and you don’t need to look anywhere else.
MC’s Choice: “Drunk In Love”

The Shocker: Any of the other four songs.
There is no need to really explain. I would seriously be shocked if Jay-Z & Beyoncé lost to anyone that is not Jay-Z & Beyoncé.


Best Compilation Soundtrack for Visual Media

American Hustle
Guardians of the Galaxy
Frozen
Get On Up: The James Brown Story
The Wolf of Wall Street

Popular Vote: Frozen
“Let It Go” alone can win Frozen this award. I will not see the movie and I will not say a lot of things about it. I know the power of Frozen and It won’t let go a Grammy.

MC’s Choice: Guardians of the Galaxy
Sure Frozen has “Let It Go”, but does Frozen have “Moonage Daydream”, “Hooked On A Feeling”, “I Want You Back” Or “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough”? I think not! This soundtrack is basically a very well done mixtape. I can’t complain about it. Every song on the soundtrack is great and fitting for Guardians of the Galaxy. Let’s hope in 2017 the soundtrack continues being great.

The Shocker: I don’t have one.


Best Music Video

“We Exist,” Arcade Fire
“Turn Down for What,” DJ Snake & Lil Jon
“Chandelier,” Sia
“Happy,” Pharrell Williams
“The Golden Age,” Woodkid ft. Max Richter

Popular Vote: “Chandelier”
This is such a tough decision. I feel like “Chandelier” or “Happy” could be in this vote. 500 million+ have seen both of these videos which makes it a tough decision. I’m trying to think like the Grammy voting committee. I feel like they would “Chandelier”. It’s not because of Sia, it’s Maddie Ziegler; She makes that video so strong! If the concept was different, “Chandelier” would just be another powerful song watered down by a lame video. It’s like if it followed a late night dancer or depressed stripper it wouldn’t be as strong to me. I feel like this can very well take home a Grammy for Best video. If you haven’t seen it, please go watch it.

MC’s Choice: “Happy”
I dare you to go watch “Happy” and try not to smile. It is impossible. I tried and I was smiling the minute the video started. Pharrell’s “Happy” contains everyone. I mean everyone. There is every shape, race, size, age, and gender in this video. There are celebrities and normal people. There is not one frown in this video. EVERYONE IS HAPPY and I know the song can be very annoying, but if you watch the video you will fall in love with the song again. I know I did. I hope this song win Best music video. It’s too damn good not to, but it has tough competition in “Chandelier”.

The Shocker: “Turn Down for What” or “The Golden Age”
I will say “Turn Down for What” is one of the silliest videos I’ve seen in a while. It made laugh the most out of the five. I don’t know if the over the top silliness is worth a Grammy, but it is an impressively shot video. If it beats “Happy” or “Chandelier”, I will have some questions though on why did it win. Is it because it is so much fun or so ridiculous? Grammy voting committee you are weird.

The Golden Age is over. This video is a gripping ten minutes long. I think the message behind it was childhood was the Golden Age and since we are older now it is over. I’m a bit confused by the video yet I understood it. I don’t know if that makes sense. This is definitely worth a Grammy.


Best Music Film

Beyoncé & Jay Z: On The Run Tour, Beyoncé & Jay-Z
Ghost Stories, Coldplay
20 Feet From Stardom, Darlene Love, Merry Clayton, Lisa Fischer & Judith Hill
Metallica: Through The Never, Metallica
The Truth About Love Tour: Live From Melbourne, Pink

Popular Vote: Beyoncé & Jay Z: On The Run Tour
Well once again, It’s Jay and Bey. Why not? I didn’t see the movie, but plenty of people did. So there is that. It’s basically concert footage and some behind the scenes stuff right? Yeah let’s go with that.

MC’s Choice: 20 Feet From Stardom
Oh my lord, this was one of the best music documentaries I have ever seen. You will really learn what back up singers are. They are more than just backing vocals, they are freaking stars. Some of the singers in this movie should have been big stars, but watch the film to see why that didn’t happen. This movie was powerful and to me it deserves a Grammy.

The Shocker: The Truth About Love Tour
Wait this was a movie? I didn’t even know. You know I didn’t see this then. I would be surprised if it won tonight. I would be happy that P!nk won a Grammy.


Best Rap Album

The New Classic, Iggy Azalea
Because the Internet, Childish Gambino
Nobody’s Smiling, Common
The Marshall Mathers LP2, Eminem
Oxymoron, ScHoolboy Q
Blacc Hollywood, Wiz Khalifa

Popular Vote: The New Classic
I feel like history is going to repeat itself again this year. The best album won’t win instead the most popular one will. The New Classic is not a terrible album, but it is definitely not the best out of this list. I feel like the Grammy committee will vote this album as best rap album because of the critical acclaim of “Fancy”. To me, this album as a whole cannot contend with my pick. I really hope popularity does not trump music because if so the music won’t matter anymore. I won’t knock Iggy though. She worked hard to get to this point and if she wins she earned it. I just don’t want it to feel like it was handed to her. It felt like it was handed to Macklemore last year. I want the music and the best album to win. I don’t want any bullspit from this. Azeala Banks will be very salty if this happens.

MC’s Choice: Because The Internet & The Marshall Mathers LP 2
A hidden website, hidden music videos, a script to go along with the album, amazing production, sick lyrics and just genius. HOW COULD THIS NOT WIN? I feel like this was the best album of 2013 hip-hop. I really loved the Marshal Mathers LP 2, but Because The Internet was something I played every day. It is one of the few albums I brought twice. The best way I can describe it is like listening to a movie. If you read the script that Donald wrote for the album, you will appreciate the album much better. I don’t know if the committee looks into all of this. If the committee did, they have to appreciate the effort he put into this album. It wasn’t just a bunch of songs thrown together. It was something so much bigger. I have said this a thousand times don’t sleep on ‘Bino. He is one of the best musicians out. I hope tonight he finally proves to all of you naysayers. ‘Bino got a Grammy.

Even if he doesn’t win, my other choice is Eminem because MMLP2 was the second most played album of that year.

The Shocker: Oxymoron & Nobody Smiling
I would flip my lid if Oxymoron won tonight. I am not expecting it, but if it does I am going to be so happy for TDE and Q. I don’t know who is on that committee, but if they really listened to O X Y A MORONNNNNN they know it was awesome. I am glad it got nominated. If it wins I’ll be just as happy.

With all the racial drama that went on last year, Nobody Smiling would be the safest choice for the Grammy committee. This album has some of the most social conscious lyrics over the other nominees. Plus it was freaking awesome. People should have definitely gave this album a listen. You wouldn’t regret it. Common winning a Grammy would bring a huge smile to my face. Oh I mean a grin.


Best Comedy Album

Mandatory Fun,”Weird Al” Yankovic
Obsessed, Jim Gaffigan
Oh My God, Louis C.K.
Tragedy Plus Comedy Equals Time, Patton Oswalt
We Are Miracles, Sarah Silverman

Popular Vote: Mandatory Fun
Weird Al has been a part of my childhood and development ever since I could remember. He is comedy legend. He is one of my heroes. I would love to see “Weird Al” Yankovic win another Grammy because darn it he deserves it. Al still got it! HE is the King of Parodies and there will never be another. Mandatory Fun should be the winner tonight hands down.

MC’s Choice: Mandatory Fun

The Shocker: Any of the other four
I would only be shocked if Al didn’t win. I love the other four nominees as well. They are all great comedians and winning a Grammy would be great for them. I would be happy yet, a little salty the king Weird Al doesn’t win.


Best Alternative Music Album

This Is All Yours, alt-J
Reflektor, Arcade Fire
Melophobia, Cage The Elephant
St. Vincent, St. Vincent
Lazaretto, Jack White

Popular Vote: Reflektor or Lazaretto
I think Arcade Fire can win this award. In the past, this indie group won album of the year. So why wouldn’t they win best Alternative album? I think they may pull it off again, but enter Jack White. I loved Lazaretto so much…a bit more than Reflektor so I’m torn. If I was on the committee, I would vote for Lazaretto based on how many times I have played it. Either one of these albums can take the Grammy.

MC’s Choice: St. Vincent
My real choice is my favorite lady from last year St. Vincent. I really want Annie to win a Grammy because she reeks of awesomeness. This albums was definitely on repeat last year and I consider it to be one of my favorites. I think it was one of the best albums of 2014. I don’t know if plenty people heard it, but I feel like it was slept on. I really want to see St. Vincent hold that Grammy in the air! I don’t think Annie cares if she won or lost, I think she may just think this whole nomination is cool, but winning is so much better.

The Shocker: St. Vincent
I WOULD LOSE MY MIND!


Best Rock Album

Ryan Adams, Ryan Adams
Morning Phase, Beck
Turn Blue, The Black Keys
Hypnotic Eye, Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
Songs of Innocence, U2

Popular Vote: Morning Phase
MC’s Choice: Morning Phase
I’m not going to beat a dead horse. Listen Beck’s Morning Phase helped me smile a lot more. It was like the continuation of Sea Change, but with a different outlook. Morning Phase is the Sequel to it. It is a peaceful outlook on potentially negative circumstances. This is the best way I could put it. Life can get tough, but don’t let it get you down. There is always a bright side and I saw it in Morning Phase. I hope the committee saw it too.

The Shocker: Songs of Innocence
The only reason I would be shocked by U2 winning really stems back to the backlash of this album. People were not happy getting this album for free. Hell iTunes had to give a detailed walkthrough just to get rid of it. I know it wasn’t that bad…it couldn’t be right? It would just be odd to see them win after all the anger people showed towards them.


Best Pop Vocal Album

Ghost Stories, Coldplay
Bangerz, Miley Cyrus
My Everything, Ariana Grande
Prism, Katy Perry
x, Ed Sheeran
In the Lonely Hour, Sam Smith

Popular Vote: Prism
1st the Superbowl, now a Grammy. I have feeling this could be the new formula. After all, Bruno Mars won a Grammy and did the Superbowl last year so why wouldn’t Katy Perry? I’m sure that performance got her a bunch of exposure and boosted her record sales. It also made Left Shark a star. Maybe the Grammy committee will vote in favorite of Perry. Prism was a great pop album after all I don’t see why it couldn’t win.

MC’s Choice: In the Lonely Hour
This album really affected me. I wrote a freaking review for the album for crying out loud. Out of the five albums, I played this one the most. Well make that four. I really enjoyed x as well. Focus me, focus! Every single song on In the Lonely Hour is relatable to the listener. You don’t have to go through it to understand. I think that’s what makes his album great. It’s soulful sadness at its finest. I got a strong feeling In The Lonely Hour will take home a Grammy. Even if it’s not this one.

The Shocker: x
I believe this is the first time Ed Sheeran has been nominated for a Grammy on his own. I would a bit shocked well not really. I mean the album is great and the radio play is going very well for him. I just think compared to the other five names Ed Sheeran may seem an unknown amongst a bunch the big names. Sheeran is great in his own right, but I think average listener may not know who he is. This would be a nice win for Sheeran.


Best Urban Contemporary Album

Sail Out, Jhene Aiko
Beyonce, Beyonce
X, Chris Brown
Mali Is, Mali Music
G I R L, Pharrell Williams

Popular Vote: Beyonce
The Bey-Hive is strong. I think their presence will be felt this year. She is the biggest name out of all of the other artists and the most popular. Surprise albums = Surprise Grammys.

MC’s Choice: G I R L
Out of the 5 albums listed, I only listened to two really. Sail Out and G I R L. I thoroughly enjoyed both of those albums, but if I had to choose I would pick Pharrell’s album to win. G I R L it had more hits than Sail Out. I wish G I R L  was longer, but that’s my only real gripe. I am want Pharrell to leave with another Grammy!

The Shocker: Mali Music
The thing is I don’t know who Mali Is. Therefore if he won, I would be surprised. Maybe this is someone I should learn about. This is really my reason lol.


Best New Artist

Bastille
Iggy Azalea
Brandy Clark
Haim
Sam Smith

Popular Vote: Sam Smith
Last year was the rise Sam Smith pretty much. So it seems fitting that he would win best new artist. I am confused why Iggy Azalea is in this list, but I digress. Sam Smith has been taking over pop music ever since “Stay With Me” hit radio airwaves. This London bloke is going to leave with Best New Artist and maybe song of the year. I don’t know. We will find out tonight.

MC’s Choice: HAIM
If you don’t know Haim, what are you doing? This is one of my favorite new bands and Days Are Gone is a must listen. The sister trio is definitely a group you should keep your eye on. I am very eager for their second album and would be extremely happy if they won best new artist. I wouldn’t see it coming!

The Shocker: Brandy Clark
1. I don’t know who she is really.
2. I know she is a country artist.
3. If she beats Sam Smith…well wow.


Album of the Year

Beck, Morning Phase
Beyonce, Beyonce
Ed Sheeran, x
Sam Smith , In the Lonely Hour
Pharrell Williams, G I R L

Popular Vote: Beyonce
I will tell you one more time. Beyoncé. This is all

MC’s Choice: x or In the Lonely Hour
Honestly I would be happy if Ed or Sam won this award. Overall, both are solid album worthy of a Grammy.

The Shocker: Morning Phase
I don’t expect Beck to win album of the year, however I am not against it. Simple as that.


Song of the Year

“Chandelier,” Sia
“All About That Bass,” Meghan Trainor
“Shake It Off,” Taylor Swift
“Stay With Me (Darkchild Version),” Sam Smith
“Take Me to Church,” Hozier

Popular Vote: Shake It Off
The biggest hit of the summer and possibly the year may walk out with the Grammy. I think Taylor Swift wrote the hell out of this song. I mean if this is her first big plunge into pop music she is doing a hell of a job. I think soon she is going to take over pop music. I was going to put Sam Smith’s “Stay With Me” in this spot, but it probably won’t beat this song. It’s strong enough to beat it, but I feel like the committee is going to vote toward T-Swift.

MC’s Choice: Take Me to Church or Chandelier
I am torn between “Chandelier” and “Take Me to Church”. I really love “Chandelier”. It’s such a sad song yet it so beautiful while “Take Me to Church” is just amazing. People think this song is an attack on faith, but it is not. Hozier said “But it’s not an attack on faith… it’s an assertion of self, reclaiming humanity back for something that is the most natural and worthwhile.” It’s such a beautiful song that became huge and I would love for it to be rewarded.

The Shocker: All About That Bass
It would be a big surprise if newcomer Meghan Trainor walked away with a Grammy. I mean this song is very popular and has a great message about loving yourself for the way you are. I think Meghan Trainor has a chance of winning, but it would be crazy if she beat T-Swift and Sam Smith tonight.


Record of the Year

“Fancy,” Iggy Azalea ft. Charli XCX
“Chandelier,” Sia
“Stay With Me (Darkchild Version),” Sam Smith
“Shake It Off,” Taylor Swift
“All About That Bass,” Meghan Trainor

Popular Vote: Fancy
If Iggy doesn’t win Best rap album this year, I think Record of the year is going to go to her. I figure if she can’t have one they will give her the other. It didn’t get song of the year, but record of the year sounds more fitting. T.I. will be happy while Azalea Banks will be extremely salty.

MC’s Choice: Chandelier
To keep it short and sweet, I think Sia completely deserves it. She works way too hard to get snubbed because she isn’t as popular as the rest. Chandelier may win this award and song of the year. I just see it happening.

The Shocker: All About That Bass
Again the new comer winning two big awards would simply be shocking.


The end! I had fun writing this and I hope some of my predictions come true. The Grammys will be airing very soon so make sure to watch! till next time!

Bye bye!

MC

Leave a Reply

