A Time


I remember a time
when someone was knocking at my door.
I looked through the blinds
but it was nothing though.

I remember a time when something was knocking at my door.
Presented itself as an idea and waited slowly.
I wanted to answer
I longed to answer
Till a voice from the shadows said
“no, don’t answer”
Must have been from St. Elsewhere.

I remember a knocking at my door.
What was it exactly?
I don’t care, I don’t know
As much as I have the will to answer
the call that haunted me now
I couldn’t….
Life changed.
I’m sorry…..
Now there is a small noise
A tapping at the wall
I’m cautious, but
I’m listening.

-MCZX

Leave a Reply

