Golden Boy Review!!!


Golden Boy

Golden Boy

In 1995, the anime world learned how to STUDY! OH how I wish there was so much more to STUDY in Golden Boy! I really do! Golden Boy is about a twenty-five year old, easy-going, perverted, job hopping, part-timer named Kintarou Ooe who quit law school because to Kintarou it was too easy. You see despite being a complete pervert Kintarou Ooe is a genius. A genius who is spending his days studying life. STUDY is his motto and after you finish watching Golden Boy it just might be yours too.

Story: 8

To be honest, the show overall doesn’t have an long arc or long plot. It is just there. There is a great back story that I wish was explored much more than the lessons in each show. I mean who wouldn’t want to know how Kintarou Ooe became so smart to the point where he can drop out of law school and travel the world studying life? Was Kintarou an alien or is he just really eager to learn?! WHO KNOWS! I WISH WE COULD HAVE KNOWN BECAUSE I WOULD HAVE WATCHED THAT!!! Besides the awesome backstory, there is no real drawn out adventure to why Kintarou does what he does. The way this show plays out reminds me of a sillier, perverted version of Mushishi where the protagonist goes from place to place teaching a lesson or solving trouble. Unlike Mushishi, I noticed in the majority of episodes tend to play out the same except two of the six. This isn’t a bad thing, but the formula to how some characters are introduced stays the same. The formula is different in episode three, but that’s one tiny variation. Episode three is a much watch by the way. It is definitely the stand out of episode of the series. Every episode in Golden Boy is top notch and definitely rewatchable!

Animation: 9

The animation was done by Shueisha and KSS. It was produced by Rikizo Chino (Shueisha) and Kazuo Suzaki (KSS). I won’t lie I am completely biased to the art and animation in Golden Boy. Why? I’ll tell you. The art direction reminds me of shows like Dragonball Z, Sailor Moon, Yu Yu Hakusho, Ronin Warriors, etc. I grew up watching animes like this so that means totally biased. I really appreciate the  old school style animation.

Characters: 10

I would touch on the supporting characters (Haha), but there is no real reason to. I feel like describing them will spoil some episodes. They aren’t forgettable as a supporting cast, they are great characters. I just don’t see the point of doing a deep analysis on characters that show up a total of two times. There is only one main character that truly matters in this anime and that’s the Golden Boy, Kintarou Ooe! As I have said before, Kintarou’s mission is to study life and learn all he can from it. It is a very admirable task I must say. He travels on his Crescent Moon mountain bike from town to town getting whatever part time jobs he can. I’m sure he has a huge extended family due to his travels. On the outside, he portrays a bumbling, perverted idiot with a toilet fetish. Seriously he has a toilet gag that happens four times in the series. IT is very….hilarious and disgusting because well it is. It is top level pervert game though. However, this is all apart of Kintarou’s master plan. That’s just what he wants you to think because Kintarou is a genius after all. There is so much more to the Golden Boy than people know! He wants you to judge the cover of the book instead of actually reading it. You see Kintarou truly cares about every single lady and person he runs into. Kintarou is a very compassionate, complex, strong, humorous, genius. He will go to any lengths to protect the ones he cares for. From taking a beating to covering up the truth to shield a friend’s feelings, Kintarou will save his friends from pain and suffering. Believe it or not he reminds me of Ryu from street fighter. Instead of searching for a good fight, he is searching for great life lessons and women. I feel like he is a very mysterious character too. It isn’t weird he is very excited to learn because I am the same way, but what is his overall mission once he is done learning about life? How long will he study? When will he settle down?! The world may never know. This is the great mystery of Kinatrou Ooe! A very complex character who will definitely sniff your ass or the toilet seat you sit on if you are lady. Kintarou Ooe the classic man.

Soundtrack: 7

The opening theme was done by Joyo Katayanagi. It is called “Opening” and I found it very catchy. A dope instrumental can go a long way. The ending theme is called “Study A Go! Go!” was done by Golden Girls, Hiroyuki Kitakubo, Saito Kanji, and Tadamisu Hiro. While the theme did fit with the Kintarou’s motto, I found myself skipping it more than singing along with it. It’s not bad, but I just didn’t care too much for it.

Additional Mentions

Kintarou Ooe’s adventures could be endless. I feel like six episodes wasn’t enough because I got extremely invested in Kintarou’s character. I wish it was longer so we could have gotten the chance to explore Kintarou’s backstory! I wanted to see if he would settle down in town and be epic there. I wanted so much more, but I understand why limit it to six episodes. Too much of a good thing can turn sour. Bow out leaving the crowd wanting more instead of over feeding them I guess.

SHOULD YOU WATCH THIS WITH YOUR PARENTS?! NO and YES. No because well of your parents are squeamish at boobs, perverts and sex stuff just watch it alone. If they are cool let them experience the greatness of Golden Boy.

My initial thoughts Golden Boy was simple. It is about a lucky perverted guy who gets laid at the end of every episode. I’m so glad I was wrong about half of that lol. A pervert is easy to spot out in the anime world.

Conclusion

Golden Boy is one of the classic comedic animes that goes underrated in my eyes. I’m sure it was big in the 90s, but due to it’s “raunchy” content (which really is not that bad) the show may have gotten overlooked for more kid friendly, action oriented shows. The show is only six episodes which is about two hours and tweny three minutes! I’m sure you can find the show on youtube, crunchyroll, the internet or just buy the blu-ray if they have it. Golden Boy is worth your time! You will laugh! You will yell at the screen! You will realize being a genius is awesome! You will want more! Most importantly you will embrace, the perverted genius known as Kintarou Ooe!

Final Rating: 8.5

Story:  8
Animation: 9
Characters: 10
Soundtrack: 7

Till the next review!!!

– MCZX!

Leave a Reply

